3 Things About Vows & A Vengeful Groom

Hi everyone. Bronwyn Jameson is here this week to talk about Vows & A Vengeful Groom, the first book in Diamonds Down Under and a January 08 release. Her topic was “6 Things (to love, to know, to check out) in Vows & A Vengeful Groom” but when the post grew and grew she decided to split it into two parts.

So, over to Bronwyn for the first 3 things to look out for in Vows & A Vengeful Groom.

1. Ric Perrini.
The name came to me first; I don’t recall how or when or why, but I knew that the heroine would call him Perrini and that he had to be an Italian-Australian charmer. Alpha, yes, a self-made success with a silver tongue and a shining confidence in his ability as the right man – for the job of leading Blackstone Diamonds and for Kimberley Blackstone. Ten years ago he let a young, hot-headed Kim go, but as soon as he sees her again Ric recognises his mistake and sets out to rectify it.

He’d made the decision to fly to her without a second’s hesitation. As much as he hated what had brought him here, he relished the fact it would bring her home. She belonged at Blackstone’s. Ric sucked in a deep breath and the scent of summer that clung to her skin curled into his gut and took hold. Just like she belonged in his bed.

RicI love a hero who knows what he wants and sets an unswerving path toward getting it. How about you?

Usually I have an image of my hero, not always a famous actor, sometimes a likeness from a magazine ad. that strikes a chord. In this case I couldn’t find the exact image that had taken root in my mind. This is close — perhaps a younger version of today’s man.

2. Kimberley Blackstone.
Although born into privilege as the only daughter of diamond magnate Howard Blackstone, Kim didn’t have an easy childhood. She isn’t a spoiled society princess…at least not any more. After walking out on her husband-of-ten-days and her job at Blackstone Diamonds, Kim worked hard to forge a reputation based on her skills as a gemmologist rather than her name. Working for her father’s sworn enemy means Kim is very much on the outer with Blackstone’s, although that changes when she is needed to secure the company’s future.

Ric fastened his hold on her smooth, warm skin until her eyes widened slightly and he knew he had her full attention. Then he said, “When the Board meets, your name will come up to fill the vacancy. Think about it. This is your chance to be on the inside, to shape something positive from this disaster.”
Her deep green eyes snapped. “How?”
“As part of the force that determines how Blackstone’s goes forward into the future.”

He had her, by the way, at “your chance to be on the inside”!

3. The Setting, Vaucluse.

The story kicks off in Auckland, New Zealand, where Kim has been living and working for the past ten years. But when she learns that her father is missing, she returns to Sydney to her estranged family. Home is Vaucluse, the suburb with Sydney’s highest average real estate value. The houses are elegant and imposing, the gardens long-established, the views of Sydney Harbour spectacular.

They climbed the street lined with multi-million-dollar homes to the most spectacular of all. Miramare.For the first twenty years of her life the three-storey white mansion had been Kimberley’s home. She’d never been struck by its majesty, its size, its opulence, until Perrini downshifted gears to negotiate the thick cluster of news teams waiting outside the security gates and turned into the driveway. And there it was, rising before them like a Venetian palace. A home fit for the man the media dubbed Australia’s King of Diamonds.

Vaucluse is only a few kilometres from the city centre and the site of Blackstone Diamonds’ head offices…and even closer is the beachside suburb of Bondi. I’ll be back in a day or two for part deux, when I’ll cover the second three points which include the iconic Bondi Beach.

Meantime, let’s talk about your favourite kind of settings. Do you enjoy the fantasy of books set in sophisticated cities, in fabulous estate homes, with magical panoramic views…or do you prefer small town communities with cosy homes and neighbourhoods that seem almost familiar in their realness? 

Vows CoverJoin this week’s discussion and you’ll be entered in the draw to win a 3-pack of Down-Under Desires by Yvonne Lindsay, Maxine Sullivan and Paula Roe  (drawn January 12.)

Vows & A Vengeful Groom is now available in North American bookstores and on-line from Amazon and Barnes & Noble and as an e-Book from eHarlequinFictionwise or wherever you buy your eBooks. A February release in Australia and New Zealand, it is available now at eHarlequin Australia.

22 Responses to “3 Things About Vows & A Vengeful Groom”

  1. How exciting – I can’t wait to read this series!

  2. I also love a hero who knows what he wants and won’t take no for an answer. It’s all part of the hero formula. He should be confident, knowing what to do.

    I enjoy the fantasy set in sophisticated cities, in fabulous estate homes, or fancy apartments. It’s all part of the fantasy so why not make it with style. When reading a romance I’d want it to take me to another place and not vice versa. I think that’s the magic of a romance.. taking you to another place.

  3. Hey Bron!

    I love a bit of everything – sophisticated cities, small-town settings… but I also love a powerful hero marching into the heroine’s life to shake things up! I think it speaks to the very real fantasy of many women, those who are stressed with everyday life (family, friends, partner, job) and just want a gorgeous, confident guy to take charge and sweep them away from normality. That doesn’t mean to say that a) we are unhappy with our lives b) we can’t tell the difference between fantasy and reality and c) we want it all the time… that would just be annoying 😀 But hey, I wouldn’t mind being the sole focus and object of our heroes’ desires once in a while! LOL

  4. Love that the heroine calls the hero Perrini! So cool…

  5. JSL, so glad you’re enjoying the story behind the series.

    Mona and Paula, I agree absolutely on the take-charge hero…and why that is an attraction (in fiction, if not always in real life.) The other reason I like this kind of romantic hero is because of the dynamic it creates with a strong and spirited heroine. Never a dull moment!

    Rach, glad you like that touch.

  6. I’m with Paula I like them all but I think a panoramic view is magical

  7. JSL, I can’t wait to read the whole series myself. And I already know what happens!

    Paula, I agree with everything you said. To be swept away once in a while is certainly a fantasy of most women, I’d imagine. My hubby has offered to sweep me off my feet occasionally, and he does get an alpha attitude once in a while, but alas, he doesn’t have the money. Bummer. *g*

    Christa, to me that magical panoramic view is a necessity. After all, we can’t look at the hero ALL the time. *g*

    Bron, great post.

    Welcome all.

  8. Mona, I’m with you on the take charge hero. I like a man who knows his mind 😉

    I also love reading a romance where the setting is virtually another character in the story. Not so much that it impedes the flow of the development of the romance but more that the setting enhances the romance.

    I’m looking forward to your next “three things”, Bron 🙂

  9. Patricia Cochran Says:

    I am such a bookaholic that I love any setting presented by the author.
    I find myself primarily focusing on the relationships between the “cast members.” I like to find myself involved in all the twists and turns that
    occur in the storylines. Just reading the bits and pieces offered tells me
    that this will be a most interesting series!!

  10. I enjoy reading novels which have wonderful romantic settings. Those are my favorites and most appealing. One of them is the Amalfi Coast. Cannot beat that for grandeur and scenic beauty.

  11. Christa, I’ve been spoiled for views — in the hilltop home where I grew up and the place we’ve lived the past (yikes!) 23 years. So I always like to create places with verandas or terraces or balconies with a view.

  12. Yvonne, I’m with you on loving the setting as an extra (secondary) character. One of my favourite category romances which I read during my writing apprenticeship was Jezebel’s Blues by Ruth Wind (Barbara Samuel) where the river (Jezebel) was a powerful character whose presence wove in and out of the romance. Magic.

  13. Patricia, you focus on the heart of the story — the characters and the romance — and I love your view that all settings can work. Also very happy to hear that you’re enjoying the pieces about our series.

    Anne, the Amalfi Coast is a place I would love to visit in real life. It is romantic, for sure.

  14. Anne – I got to see the Amalfi Coast passing by in a train 😦 But I did get to stay for five days on Portugal’s Algarve Coast, which is comparable in its gorgeousness! And the shopping… ahh…

  15. Paula, our eldest is just back from his Overseas Adventure and he loved the Algave as well.

  16. I love it when you tell us more about a book in the form of pictures and descriptions.

  17. I like the fantasy setting of a castle, and the expensive cars…because it just makes you dream and escape into some other world – something that I love about Desires!… though likeable heroes are a Must!!

  18. Lily, I’m a visual person and love having the pictures to go with!

    Nathalie, I’m a BIG fan of castles as well and of the escape fantasy world of our books. Agree on heroes needing to be likeable and sure do hope we get that right for you in our Diamonds Down Under books.

  19. Bron, Barbara Samuels is an incredible writer who really knows how to transport a reader right into a story. I met her too at a conference here a few years ago, nice lady.
    Paula, you wee gadabout, you! Portugal was fabulous, tho I’m talking a lot of years ago now. From the lakes in the north to the seaside cities (and yes, the port factories….) to the beaches. Lovely people, great food, used to be cheap cheap cheap but I suppose that changed when it went into the EU.

  20. Please tell me there is more coming on the people in this book (vows &a vwngful geoom) You left so many unanswered questions and people and what happens to them, what’s the deal??????? I enjoyed the book till I got to the ending.I sure hope you have a follow up with the same people in it and bring it all to a happy ending. That’s what reading a love story is all about—HAPPY ENDINGS, if I want sad I’ll read the newspaper. PLEASE TELL ME THERE IS MORE. DISAPOINTED, Fran

  21. Fran, I’m sorry to hear that you found the ending of Vows & A Vengeful Groom sad when Ric and Kimberley found each other — and love — again. I promise you there is more to come. This is the first in a six-book series, actually, so there is A LOT more to come for Ric and Kim and all the Blackstones and Hammonds.

  22. Lily – as a reader too, I love that extra insight into a story… the pikkies, the backstory, etc. Makes me more involved.

    Jan – gadabout indeed 🙂

    Bron – don’t get me started on castles! There was one in Austria on top of a mountain that you had to ski-lift to get to. Most amazing place, complete with dungeons and everything. There was also one in Germany (I think… or was it Austria again?) that was simply amazing – restored interior and furnishings, and with a sunken bath – so modern for its time. Have the photos but can’t think of what it was called. Now I must go and do some surfing…

Comments are closed.

