Six Things I Love About Port Douglas

I’ve wracked my brain to limit this to only six, it’s tough when I love almost everything about this quaint little town that feels as lush, humid and friendly as a tropical island. I’ve prattled on about my favourite thing – Four Mile Beach – earlier in this blog so will give that a miss, but there is so much to choose from!

1/ Desire readers like DANGER – especially dangerous alpha males – so I’ll begin with the four C’s: Cyclones.
Like tornadoes in the States, cyclones have a season and in Northern Queensland, it’s generally between November and end April. One of the worst was in March 1911, killing two people, toppling the lighthouse and almost completely destroying the emerging village of Port Douglas and the nearby town of Mossman.

Pic: Two children sit around a damaged piano in amongst the debris of cyclone 1911

Contrast that with Cyclone Larry in March 2006 which devastated sugar cane and banana crops, made thousands homeless and left 100,000 without power. But cyclones can be good too. They stimulate growth, cull old vegetation to make way for new, create vegetable pulp for the forest floor and flush out river systems, sending nutrients into the sea to feed the hungry coral reef. No cyclones, no reef!

Crocodiles – Northern Queensland has the smaller freshwater croc found in many parts of the world, and the much larger estuarine crocs, huge and aggressive creatures found in the mangrove swamps near the mouths of rivers. I did a night-time croc-spotting expedition on the Daintree River a few miles north of Port. We dangled our hands in the water. We stood on a tiny observation deck about three feet from the surface of the water. We didn’t see a croc, but next day at Hartley Creek Crocodile Farm, we were shocked when a guide threw a leaf onto a still-as-glass pond and a monster of about four meters long burst out of the water and leapt high into the air. Some estuarine crocs can grow up to seven meters long!

Cassowaries – a spectacular, flightless bird related to the emu and ostrich, stands up to two meters tall, covered in coarse black feathers with brilliant reds and blues above its neck and a bony casque on its head, used to batter its way through undergrowth and– apparently – to headbutt nosy humans. They eat whole apples in one and run like the wind – frequently after cars! And they are reportedly very bad-tempered when approached. There are around sixty reported human deaths from these birds.

Cane toads – are poisonous to most small animals who want to eat them, including household pets. Originally brought in from Hawaii in an unsuccessful attempt to eradicate a beetle that was decimating the sugar cane, the toad population exploded, having a detrimental effect on native wildlife. They are regarded as a hateful pest, but one very Australian way to get revenge is to visit the Iron Bar and Grill on Macrossan Street on race night. If you’re lucky enough to be picked as a jockey, you get to kiss your numbered and fancily-dressed toad and then encourage it to race the length of a table by blowing party kazoos.

One of the more obvious dangers around Northern Queensland are the stingers that frequent the beach in the summer months. Stinger nets are a fact of life on Four Mile Beach between October and June. Box Jellyfish can be deadly and have been known to kill within 3 or 4 minutes. There is an antivenom if you’re lucky enough to be close to a medical center. If not, vinegar helps. I have seen a sign along the lines of “Beware the Stinger, if it doesn’t kill you, the pain will make you wish it had!” Apparently, two pairs of pantyhose, one worn the regular way, the other with the crotch cut out and pulled over your head, putting your arms through the legs, also offers some protection.

But far and away, the most common danger of Port are the locals teasing you to death!

2/ RESTAURANTS – probably around fifty eating establishments in this tiny town, from the 5-star Nautilus, fine dining amongst the trees to my personal favourite, Salsa, tropical modern Australian cuisine, showcasing the best of local delicacies such as Seven Pepper Fried Soft Shell Mud Crab with Daintree green tea noodles, jaggery and galangal glaze. A perennial favourite is Going Bananas, famous for its Barramundi Wings – and the large bearded man wearing a skirt, lashing the waitresses with a cardboard sword and stuffing unsuspecting diners mouths with jelly snakes. And of course, Mango Jam on Macrossan Street for its gourmet woodfired pizzas. Although I haven’t done it yet, Flames of the Forest, 15 minutes north of Port, is apparently a magical place where you dine in the rainforest at night beside a river, before being treated to an intimate story telling experience from a local aborigine, whose ancestors have told the same stories in this very place for thousands of years.

3/ THE REEF – over 2600 individual reefs and 300 islands, The Great Barrier reef is the largest complex of coral reefs in the world. It covers 2000 kms, half the size of Texas. Quicksilver is the largest tour operator here but there are many smaller ones, notably an authentic Chinese junk called Shaolin. Once at the isles, you can snorkel, explore by semi-submersible or check out the incredible colours of underwater life on glass-bottomed boats.

4/ KURANDA – a picturesque mountain village, accessible by historic train along the Great Dividing Range or by Skyrail where your cable car hovers over the rainforest. Kuranda started out as an alternative hippy settlement but now is well and truly a tourist gem right in the middle of the rainforest. There are local markets, animal parks, bungee, handicraft shops and galleries, and restaurants and hotels. The breathtaking Barron Falls and aboriginal dance performances are not to be missed.

5/ HISTORY – Port has had a checkered history since being its discovery in the late 1700s. Over the centuries, the area has flourished and died in gold, tin and copper mining, farming, sugar cane, banana and corn crops booms and busts. Named in 1877 after the current Premier of Queensland, Port took over from Cairns as the business and political hub of Northern Queensland, but this was reversed in 1885 and development of the town slowed considerably. The cyclone in 1911 almost killed the town off. But with the opening of the Cook Highway in 1933 between Cairns and Port, things began to improve. Sugar cane was now well established and rail links were built between Cairns and Mossman. Australians loved to holiday here during the winter months for its balmy temperatures and proximity to the Reef and the Rainforest, but it wasn’t until the Sheraton Mirage Resort opened in 1988 that the rest of the world discovered Port Douglas. Paradise was now firmly on the international tourist map.

6/CARNIVAL – I was lucky enough to take in the Port Douglas Village Carnival and what a hoot! There are float and fashion parades down the main street, sand sculpting and other beach activities, regattas on the water, golf challenges, the Longest Lunch on the boardwalk of the Marina, rugby tournaments, a triathlon, street theatre, food and wine festivals and the finale, the Sunday seafood extravaganza where you can stuff yourself with seafood for hours and all for next to nothing. Yum!

Those are just a few of the things I love about Port Douglas in Northern Queensland, Australia. I have travelled a lot in the past and there is not a place that I wouldn’t go back to, but Port is my second home. See you there soon!

All comments will go in the draw for a copy of my next release, Billionaire’s Favorite Fantasy (US spelling) due out in the States in July (Oz/NZ) in August, or any of my backlist.

Have a great week, everyone!

55 Responses to “Six Things I Love About Port Douglas”

  1. yea first again 😀

  2. oh I love the part about the restaurant and reef. Good combination of food and scenery to love a place for 😀

  3. azteclady Says:

    Avi, you meaning *stamping foot*

    Bronwyn, I have to admire the way you included so many different items under only six headings–brilliant! You sure you are not a lawyer?

    (pantyhose to go swimming? eeeeeeeek!)

  4. azteclady Says:

    erm… that was supposed to be “meanie”

    *slinking off*

    I hatesses typoses

  5. Azteclady, sorry, not trying to be a meanie (lol). I just woke up this morning (8 am) and behold the chance to be first again was too tempting to pass up 😉

  6. I want to visit Port Douglas right this minute. It’s beautiful. Have you ever seen anyone actually wearing pantyhose at the beach to avoid the stingers?

  7. limecello Says:

    LOL, Avi – good for you. Always first. I’d love to visit Port Douglas – I love these posts talking about such amazingly fabulous places. Oh how I wish I had the time/chance/money to travel! 😛

  8. Port Douglas sounds absolutely gorgeous.

    Jan, you have me totally hooked, although I believe I’ll visit outside of cyclone season… That information about the cyclones/reefs was fascinating. I’d never thought of things that way, that without one you wouldn’t have the other. Fascinating. And there’s no way I’m going near a 2 metre high bird, especially one with that bone structure on its head! Argh! 60 reported deaths, you say? Yvonne runs and hides

  9. Yvonne, don’t be such a ‘sooky’ – you at least have a hope of looking one in the eye unlike we more vertically challenged!

    Jane re the pantyhose, no, I haven’t sadly…although I heard that story so often there just may be something in it other than locals teasing tourists. It’s funny, because I was very into rugby, I always ‘hated’ our biggest rivals, the Australians – not that I knew any! They were arrogant and this and that and the other. But once I visited there, I couldn’t believe what a narrow-minded jerk I was. They are friendly, very efficient, proud of their beautiful country – and a bunch of larrikins! They’re forward-minded and prepared to try anything. I love my aussie friends and love what I’ve seen of Australia – but Port is my absolute fave!

    AviJ…the woman that never sleeps….good for you! Maybe I should offer a book to anyone who beats her to first post – but there are so few constants in life and I don’t mind knowing that AviJ is always first!

    Limecello you can be a mental traveller like Meryl Streep in Out of Africa – and that was before they had internet! Has anyone got Google Earth? I often wondered if that was a good thing to have for researching settings.

    Azteclady, you can’t blame Bron for having verbal diarrhoea, that’s all me, I’m afraid, she is just the long-suffering one who loaded the post on for her techotwitty colleague.

  10. Patricia Cochran Says:

    Hi, Jan,

    I agree with Yvonne, no visiting during cyclone season. I have no choice concerning
    hurricane season ( which began on June 1) we live right smack dab in the Gulf Coast!
    Houston has avoided being hit by a major hurricane. The major flooding that hit the
    city a few years back was caused by a tropical storm that set up residence over us!

    Cyclones aside, I’d love to see the Barrier Reef and take in some of those gorgeous
    sounding restaurants. I hear them calling my name!!

    Pat Cochran

  11. Hi Jan, I love this post. The reef was of intrest for me. It reminds me of the Buccoo Reef in Tobago . Ever heard of the nylon pool? Its this shallow place in the middle of the sea, a natural wonder back home. 😀 I have google earth, its really great for getting research done, only thing is that you only see up to a certain point from the imagery and the place must have a clear sky. I use it frequently in presentations for clients.

  12. azteclady Says:

    Oh man! *laughing at myself*

    I knew I knew!!! there was something off when I addressed it to Bron!

    Apologies to both of you, Jan and Bron!

    *off to kick self*

    *still laughing at myself*

  13. No need for apologies, AL, although laughing at yourself is always good. Character building, I say. I should go put Jan’s name on the post because all I did was post it to WPress. The beautiful word pictures and Jan-humour is all Jan. I haven’t even been to Port, although after reading Jan’s post I really, really want to go. I’m thinking an anti-stinger neck to toe swimsuit would cover a world of faults.

    🙂

    Bron

  14. loverly post, Jan. Loooove the reef – when I get some time (and money) will have to take a visit with my son who loves that stuff.

    LJ – Google Earth is such an interesting time waster! I’ve checked out the hotel where the RWA Nationals will be held and the shopping centre close by 🙂

  15. Every time I read your blog and look at the amazing pictures I wish Australia wasn’t so far away from Finland…I would love to visit Port Douglas! Internet travelling is great ,but…

  16. Hi Pat! DH and I used to have a 24/7 business so when we could, we’d head to Port and just blob – and as an old backpacker, that was exactly the sort of holiday I’d always sneered at. But there was no way I was cooking and that’s why Port appealed, so many restaurants, you never had to visit the same one twice – except we did, because we loved them. Not a cheap place to eat, mind, but worth every penny!

    Wow, LJ I just checked out some sites on Tobago and the Nylon Pool. I want to go! So many beautiful beaches and sites. Even Port Douglas doesn’t have such white fine sand – gorgeous! Re google earth, I heard that you could see houses and streets, I considered getting it while researching Sioux Falls Sth Dakota for a book but in the end, I just logged onto the daily newspaper online every morning for some local flavour.

    Don’t apologise, Azteclady, if I would only make the time to learn these things. Instead i fumble around for hours or days, no better off and have to admit defeat.

    Bron I’d opt for the ‘top-to-toe’ stinger suit, personally, since the bulk of my faults are above the neck!

    Paula your son would absolutely have a ball up there. But don’t take him to Vic ??? Morris?/ Shark Museum first. I went and when we went out onto the reef, I would not put a toe in the water. All those horrid shark attack stories really put me off…

    Eva, I have friends in Finland and it sounds very exotic to me. They come to NZ every summer (the opposite of your summer) because it gets dark so early but it sounds a beautiful country. They own an island (apart from a house in Helsinki) and they are completly isolated when they are there, sounds wonderful. They cooked us a 5 or 6 course meal, delicious! (again with the food…)

  17. hey there goes that sneaky smiley again…perfect!

  18. Jan, your tropical post was just what I needed to read about today, after sitting here in Melbourne in the middle of winter (mild as it is this year).

    Aah, I can just feel that tropical breeze and the soft sand beneath my feet.

    Great post!

  19. Crystal B. Says:

    Great post. Makes me wish I could visit Port Douglas. 🙂

  20. I have the most fantastic news I just have to share, three things actually I just got back exam results passed all with A’s and B’s, next it is Mango season here my favourite fruit, a bit late this year though and finally I just finished my thesis. that took six months and only today I finally wrapped it up. All I can say is that after that thesis I have a new respect for writers. I think I’ll stick to only reading 😀 the data collection was not hard just the write up. Jan the title I did was Raising Food prices and its Effects on Restaurants, even here prices are expensive too but it is worth it 🙂

  21. It sounds all great. . . but most especially the restaurants. 😉 Sure would love to visit one day!

    Lois, who is obviously hungry if that’s what stuck with her after reading the article. 😉

  22. azteclady Says:

    Avi, huge congrats on your grades and on finishing your thesis! I know more than a few graduates who are stuck on that one for years. Here’s raising my glass to you!

    (okay, it’s only water, but it’s the feeling that counts)

  23. Virginia H. Says:

    Oh it looks and sounds like a fantastic place to visit. I hope this post, been having problems lately.

  24. Avi! What excellent results. Good on you! And congratulations on completing your thesis too. Must be about time to party down, yes?

  25. Thanks azteclady and Yvonne my version of celebrating is cooking all the foods I did not have time for like cheese cake, truffles and roast rack of lamb just to name a few. 😀
    I should add this day is going fantastic I actually created a new chocolate frosting. Been trying for some time and it all came together today, apparently I just needed to relax (lol)

  26. Hi Maxine, if we ever did get a TV film or series from Diamonds, may I propose the 6 of us take a trip to all the settings? That would be a hoot! Hmmm .wouldn’t that make a swell prize for one of our bloggers as well? Sorry ladies, there is not quite enough in the pot to make that happen – yet!! Sorry Crystal B, keep buying those lotto tix.

    AviJ, you are amazing! We’re all very proud of you. What great grades – and to have finished your thesis in 6 mths – I have a friend in Germany who has been working on her thesis forever – penguins – and I think she must be the world’s foremost authority on them. Well done you!

    Re high food prices, I can never understand why (NZ) is two islands, surrounded by sea and the main livestock is sheep, so how come seafood and lamb are so expensive here? It’s also strange that in the tropical places I’ve visited like Port and New Caledonia, the tropical fruit and veges are awful, nowhere near as nice as you get in the supermarkets here. I suppose they export the good stuff.

    Ok Lois, I hate to see anyone hungry. Moreton Bay Bug Dumplings with grilled scampi, white radish salad, wasabi foam and flying fish roe!! Chargilled eye fillet with rosemary gateau, mushroom ragout, celeriac flan and wild berry compote. Chocolate cointreau souffle. – AviJ half the battle with menus is the description, right???

    I’m off to find lunch, beat you to the fridge, Lois!

  27. Avi, big congratulations on finishing your thesis and doing so well in your exams. As Jan said, we’re proud of you. I hope you enjoyed all those mangoes. Years ago I picked some from a tree when I lived in Darwin and ended up with a rash all over my legs for months and months from the sap. Actually, I think I was the sap. 🙂

    Jan, a tv film about our DDU series sounds perfect, especially if we go to all the settings. I can just see us all taking turns to direct the director. 🙂

  28. Hey Maxine thanks so much, I actually ate at one time 17 mangoes in a day a record for me, (lol) Jan that is absolutly right a meal is only as good as its description, might I add about those choices ; tout a fait parfait (absolutly perfect) now I am feeling hungry after seeing those dishes. 😀

  29. Patricia Cochran Says:

    Jan,

    You could make the trip for a blogger a part of the deal when you negotiate the
    terms of the DDU movie. That way the trip is paid for by the movie company!
    Please add my name into the draw the day it all becomes a reality!!

    Pat Cochran

  30. for sure, Pat – hey! You beat AviJ to the draw!! Iron your sarong and tickle those taste-buds…while I get Oliver Stone on the phone heh heh…

    Mangoes – now a real alpha male when I was younger was – Avi will know of him with her love of cricket – Imran Khan, the Pakistani cricketer. Gorgeous guy. I read his autobiography and remember one of his many lady friends saying mysteriously “Imran LOVES mangoes…” and that was all she said about that! I met him, btw, at a mall here when I lined up with lots of swooning ladies to buy one of his books, a gorgeous pictorial on Pakistan. He was very nice but I put my foot right in it, he asked if I’d been to Pakistan and I said no, but I’ve been to Kashmir (meaning India)and he fixed me with a beady eye and said “Kashmir IS Pakistan.” oops.

  31. Hey, Jan, don’t feel bad. It wouldn’t be a problem if all these countries wouldn’t keep changing their names back and forth. Speaking of the Pakistan/India thing…anyone here seen the movie Partition? I saw it recently. Definitely a love story and NOT a romance.

  32. ooh no, is it a new film? I would be very interested. My dad was in the British Army in India during partition. He was one day protecting Mahatma Gandhi against hoardes of admirers, whacking people away with the blunt end of his bayonet (if you’ve been to India, the crowds are unbelievable and even admiring hoards pose a huge danger), and the man himself put his hand on Dad’s shoulder and said “Violence is not the way, my son.” Dad was hugely impressed and said “Okay, Gandiji,” then went back to his battering, even more determined to save him from harm.

  33. as an aside, my dad is an amazing person. He has also met Marilyn Monroe and Joe de Maggio when he was in the Australian Army in Korea and was invited to the officers mess at the US base, he sat across the table from Marilyn and was so overawed by her beauty, he didn’t say a word, just kept his head down and shovelled his rations! And he also did a trip riding shotgun on a van of supporters following a cyclist from Cape Town to Cairo (this was late 90’s when he was only 70!) and they were swimming at some springs at the top of Sth Africa when a helicopter landed right in front of him and Nelson Mandela got out. They lined up with about 20 others and shook his hand. Actually it was the World Cup rugby year 95 when Sth Africa beat us (NZ) in the final and Nelson was very interested in Dad being a kiwi (well, kiwi pom).
    Imagine meeting Gandhi, Monroe and Mandela in one lifetime…

  34. Hey Jan seems you are following in your fathers footsteps to meet famous people 🙂 That is so cool about your father I am sure it made for great story telling. About mix ups one time at Uni there was this girl in class an exchange student and I thought she was from China only to get corrected she was from Japan oops ( to me they look the same) (lol)

  35. Jan, has your dad kept a journal. Sounds like someone needs to write his story. What a fascinating life, and a daughter like you to boot. The man’s a legend! 🙂

    How’s the face this week, sweetie?

    Partition came out last year according to imdb:

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0213985/

    You should be able to get it at your local DVD/Video store.

  36. Hmm, my message disappeared. Not fair! Yvonne stomps foot and pouts Anyway, in the rare and unusual event that it hasn’t been put into a holding pattern to reappear when you least expect it… I’ll try to replicate.

    Jan, has your dad kept journals of his travels. Sounds like he’s led a very interesting life and someone ought to document it all. And just think, he has a daughter like you too, what a legend! BTW, how is your face this week, sweetie?

    According to imdb Partition is a 2007 release so you should be able to get it from your local video/DVD store.

  37. Love that picture of the reef!

  38. AviJ, I got quite good at telling the difference between Asian nationalities when I ran my backpackers hostel, and the names, certainly are a giveaway.

    LOL Yvonne, Dad would say having a daughter like me was a burden, more like. He’s a great writer, in his younger days had many short stories published. His style is humourous, along the lines of Woodhouse etc. Sadly he is bored to tears since he ran out of money to travel and just won’t get motivated to write. I got him a computer on his 80th but he uses it to watch dvds! Anyway, thanks, I’ll tell him about the movie.
    Re the face, I get my stitches out tom supposedly but still swollen and numb. Gums and teeth on the side I hit are numb yet achy, if you know what I mean. And all my teeth seem suddenly very sensitive to hot/cold. I’m afraid this saga may not be over yet, apart from the teeth my cheek has a hard lump on it and my nose really hurts when I blow it so wonder if I’ve broken something. Weird they didn’t xray at the time. But the worst thing is, I keep seeing it, re-livng the moment of impact, over and over. I suppose that will pass.

    Minna, I don’t know if it’s true but I heard that the Great Barrier Reef can be seen from space, like the Great Wall in China. I know it looks spectacular flying over it.

  39. Jan, you poor thing. I know you said you had 20 stitches but it sounds much worse than I thought. Hopefully things will be on the mend soon. Hugs on the bad memories of the fall.

    As for your dad, yes, what an amazing man he is. And to meet with Gandhi, Marilyn, Joe, and Mandella. Wow, I’m impressed.

    Hey, and I got my 80 year old dad set up on the internet a few month’s ago. He loves it, though has been sick with shingles and is just now getting back into it all. He has a world of wonder waiting for him.

    Take care.

  40. Congratulations to Yvonne for making #4 on the Waldenbooks bestseller list this week with Jealousy & a Jewelled Proposition.

    Way to go, Yvonne!

  41. ==Ok Lois, I hate to see anyone hungry. Moreton Bay Bug Dumplings with grilled scampi, white radish salad, wasabi foam and flying fish roe!! Chargilled eye fillet with rosemary gateau, mushroom ragout, celeriac flan and wild berry compote. Chocolate cointreau souffle. – AviJ half the battle with menus is the description, right???

    I’m off to find lunch, beat you to the fridge, Lois!===

    Oh geez, I just had lunch, and you got me hungry again!!!! LOLOL 🙂 Mm, chocolate. . . the magic word. . . 🙂

    Lois

  42. You can see the Great Barrier Reef in space. You can see satellite images of it if you just Google them.

  43. Ouch, Jan, sounds like you still have some serious healing time ahead of you. You’d better take good care of yourself. Why is it that we relive the horrid things in life and not the super fabulous ones. Not fair!

  44. Maxine! 🙂 You’re getting that announcement around and about the place about J&AJP’s entry onto the Waldies, aren’t you? 🙂 Thanks! It’s always great to stake out a good position on the lists, especially when you see the talent up there month by month.

  45. yay, Yvonne! That’s brilliant news! 😀
    Avi – excellent news on those exams. Lord, there was I reason why I hated school and studying was it 😉
    You know you can also see the Arizona Meteor Crater from space? Unbeknownst to me, I actually drove close by during my ’97 road trip. Dang!

  46. Patricia Cochran Says:

    Yvonne,

    I finished the last book in the series and I just loved it! I won’t mention
    any specifics, don’t want to ruin the book for anyone!

    Jan,

    I hope your are feeling better! Did you get your stitches out?

    Pat Cochran

  47. Yes Pat, just returned from the doc and feeling a lot more like my old self (even if I don’t look it!) I have a small piece of white tape over the wound which they want to keep on for the next month to reduce scarring. Lucky I work from home. Dh reckons I have Angelina Jolie’s ‘bee-sting’ lips!! And Maxine, it was only 12 or 13 stitches and they don’t think anything is broken, just swollen and bruised and a nerve ‘dissected’ which means fun and games with the teeth but hopefully nothing serious once the nerve settles. Phew!
    Wow, I never heard of the Arizona Meteor Crater before so had to look it up. Lucky you didn’t fall in while you were driving obliviously close by, Paula.
    Fantastic waldies news, warmest congrats, Yvonne! I think we’ve all done extremely well with this series, both for sales and reviews, thanks to our loyal supporters out there. Thanks!
    I’ve had flowers and lollies and lots of pampering from dh since the accident but I mentioned today I felt like dark peppermint choc so he went to the local shop and came back grumbling “Why couldn’t you have felt like chocolate on wednesday when some lucky person bought the winning Big Wednesday lotto tkt (about 5 mill) at that shop?”
    Why indeed? I neednt point out that a writer feels like chocolate any old time, isn;t that right, Lois?

  48. Avi, a little late but no less heartfelt CONGRATULATIONS on your outstanding results. And I do love the way you celebrate. I also adore mangoes but 17 in a sitting? Hmm, not sure I could compete. If it were cheesecakes, however…

    Jan, if there are any seats left on the expedition to scout out locations then sign me up. I am SO there! Especially if it means going to Port today. The wind here is blowing right off our first snowfalls for the season. And, Pat, of course the film company, Imagine Films (IF), is paying. First class all the way. 🙂

    Yvonne, congrat’s on your latest Waldenbooks/Borders bestseller.

    Jan, glad to hear your poor face is on the mend. And that you are being spoiled, as should be the case.

    Bron

    Bron

  49. Thanks Paula and Bron. Congrats Yvonne on your rating. Jan try using pure cocoa butter to help remove the scaring when the wound heals(even the cream helps too). I once had a blister on my face from a cleansing mask I left on too long and it is hardly even visable because of the pure cocoa butter I used.

  50. Right, you all know what time it is…time for the draw. Thanks for your very excellent ccmpany this week. And I choose…number…15!

    Eva! Congratulations Eva from Finland. If you’d like to email me janatjancolleydotcom or vagabond232atyahoodotcom and I’ll send you a copy of my next release, Billionaire’s Favorite Fantasy.

    Thanks for all your comments through the week, and stay tuned for another great blog tomorrow!

  51. wtg Eva, and thanks Jan for a great week of bloging

  52. hmm seem to have lost a post, AviJ meant to say thanks for cocoa butter tip, I have some tho not sure if its pure or not. I use bio oil, supposedly very good for scars tho I just use it as a moisturiser, and not on my face. I’ll try both!

    If this post turns up twice (like Bron Bron) I apologise…

  53. Yay, congratulations, Eva!

    Avi, you’re full of interesting tidbits of information aren’t you 🙂

    Pat! Thrilled to hear you loved the book. I tell you, I’ve been on tenterhooks all through the series worrying myself over how people will feel about the last book. Getting such lovely positive feedback is worth its weight in gold (or even diamonds!)

    Jan, I’m relieved to hear you’re healing well. And your man should be spoiling you rotten. After a fall like that you so need it.

    Everyone, thanks for your congrats on the Waldies/Borders entry for J&AJP. I was almost too scared to look but my good mate Trish Morey brought it to my attention as soon as the list went up. Sighs of relief all round. I never knew I was such a worrier! 🙂

  54. azteclady Says:

    Congrats, Eva!

    I hope you feel much better with every passing day, Jan.

    Thank you, DDU ladies!

  55. Thanks, Azteclady, a good day today, no panadol (yet) but dh just made me laugh – ouch!
    Just had a lovely email from Eva who is very pleased.
    Stay tuned for tomorrow, everyone, it’s a very special post…can’t say anymore….

Comments are closed.

